My name is Christine Brooks and I am a stalker

So, I discovered a new blog this week.  It’s called Heartbreak Pie and it is ‘life, love, and a food blog’.

The discovery came about in the twitter aftermath of Ignite Wellington. I tweeted that I would like to see more ladies taking the stage at Ignite (I would), @heartbreakpie responded, saying that my comment sounded like a challenge. I said that was exactly what it was. There was mutual following on Twitter, which involved me reading her Twitter description, clicking through to her blog. Before I knew it I was hooked.

As is occasionally my want when I discover something new, I obsess over it and consume it completely. Thus I have now read many of the entries and recipes contained within the Heartbreak Pie blog.

[Sidenote: Is that creepy? Does anyone else do this? It’s kind of like stalking. It’s a little creepy. I’m sorry. Seriously, does anyone else do this? If yes, does that even make it okay? I don’t know. Netiquette of the 21st century sometimes is beyond me. Somehow I feel like talking about my creepy behaviour openly online makes it less creepy. Is this true? Somebody help me in whatever way is appropriate for this situation.]

Here are some of my recipes I have tried. In bullet point form.

  • Roasted broccoli. This is the best thing ever.
  • This asparagus pasta dish. I added fresh dill and parsley. And roasted broccoli.
  • I was going to make a rhubarb crumble anyway but this recipe provided me with the magical idea to add ginger, cinnamon and vanilla. Result!
  • This caramelised onion and rosemary bread, which is hot out of the oven and is going to be packed up and taken over to Somes Island for tonight’s island adventure.

Here are some photos of today’s bread making process:

Caramelising the onions

Caramelising the onions was fun. I got to use my new-old cast iron pan that I got from last week’s (otherwise overpriced) Wellesley Gala for $3. Cast iron 4 evs.

The bread - just before it's put in the oven.

I deviated slightly from the recipe. We didn’t have any fennel for the dough, so I left it out. I also didn’t have any olives, so left those bad boys out as well. I did have a bounty of rosemary though, so I used heaps of that. Rosemary 4 evs.

The bread - just after it's come out of the oven.

I am looking forward to enjoying this with a few beverages on the Somes aka Te Matiu.

Thanks for all the inspiration Heartbreak Pie! Sorry for stalking you!

 

About maximumbrooks

Christine is currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. She improvises regularly at venues around town and dabbles in other things that interest her. She likes mango sorbet, monkeys and, apparently, throwing caution to the wind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My name is Christine Brooks and I am a stalker

  1. merrileem says:

    I am familiar with this form of stalking. It’s what the internet was invented for, I’m sure.

  2. Why else would people blog?

  3. georginaeve says:

    so i’m here from your tweet – it is definitely not ‘stalking’ in the negative connotation sense of the word. it’s actually a huge compliment! im sure she’ll be stoked. people share things on blogs to be read and used and liked and that’s why it’s different from stalking .. its more like writing a letter to your favourite magazine telling them how much you appreciate their quality magazine.

    and i totally agree with the caramelised onion bread recipe. so versatile – and so delicious and impressive. i often add mushrooms. yours looked amazing, super envious of all your rosemary !

  4. You stalk her, I stalk you. The circle is complete.

    Is your Ignite Welly video going to be posted online so I can view it? The stalker-cam I was using on the night is too grainy (read: I couldn’t make it on the night).

Leave a Reply

