New Orleans or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love The Beignet

Had a brillo time in New Orleans and Austin, Texas. Am now in Mexico, along with half the population of the United States of America. Let’s play catch up with bullet points and photos!

New Orleans

  • So. Much. Food. Seafood, beignets, all-you-can-eat-breakfast waffles, coffee, alcohol. Some of it consumed within close proximity of Sylvester Stallone who rips giant crabs to bits with his bare hands and sucks out the meat. And who drinks his bourbon neat. For a while I was worried about all the food I was eating. And then I just decided not to care and enjoy it. I can eat healthily when I am dead! Which may be sooner than anticipated at this greasy rate.

There is an innocent crab on the other end of that machine gun, just out of (camera) shot.

  • The saddest For Lease sign I ever did see.

My Mum says they had to put the store up for lease because they had to expand because their ideas were too big for that store. I think she is right.

  • Strands of beads from Mardi Gras tossed over street car lines and trees, glittering in the sun.

There were heaps more of them but the street car I was in kept moving so I couldn't get a better shot.

  • New Orleans Pharmacy Museum – full of old pharmaceuticals, including voodoo potions and a jar of leeches.

Just the potion I've been trying to find. It's so hard to get good Evils these days.

Ew.

  • Moving exhibition on Katrina, including an inspiring video at the end interviewing the people of New Orleans who talk about why they love their city so much and that they’re not going anywhere. It made me think lots about Christchurch.
  • Playing counsellor for an evening to a woman who was staying at the hotel after having just split up from her husband. I’m not sure what I could offer her except icy cold diet cokes, a sympathetic ear and unsolicited advice, so I just gave her those things.

And then I caught a plane to Austin, Texas on which I gave into my guilty pleasure and browsed the SkyMall catalogue conveniently left in the seat pocket in front of me. I shared the magic with my seat mates either side of me. Two new friends! Maybe we should get the women pins to celebrate:

I wish there was a deal where you could buy the Women Pin and get the Jeans Lounge Pants for free. They look like a ripped-up much-beloved pair of denim jeans but they're actually super-soft cotton with amazingly realistic front-and-back printing with a much more forgiving stretch and after all those beignets, Christine... I'm just sayin'. Shut up SkyMall.

But really… these. Just these.

Me and my future child!

About maximumbrooks

Christine is currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. She improvises regularly at venues around town and dabbles in other things that interest her. She likes mango sorbet, monkeys and, apparently, throwing caution to the wind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

