Please. Enough.

This is not the post I was due to write. I was going to write about Portland, Oregon. About the World Domination Summit. About my business plans and happiness and inspiration. About New York City and Broadway and show tunes.

Instead, my thoughts are consumed by the latest quakes in Chch. It’s 1:12am and I’m lying wide awake in the dark on an airbed in a kitchen in a sub-let in Brooklyn, New York.

I can’t sleep. I can’t do anything about the earthquakes. I can’t call my parents and my sister who have just arrived home in Sumner and are now packing up their essentials and heading to my Aunt and Uncle’s place across town. A place where the ceiling isn’t leaking.

Clifton cliffs (in Sumner) just after quake. Image by http://twitter.com/#!/zerobag

I am watching with growing revulsion as the twitter stream for #eqnz and #chch fills up with spammers, upon whom I wish to inflict bodily harm. I realise they are probably robots.

I am worried about what these latest quakes mean for my parents and their house. For my sister and her study. For my friends and their sanity.

I want to talk to my boyfriend. Actually, I want to be held by my boyfriend but he is on the other side of the world right now and I am on the kitchen floor on an airbed in a sublet in Brooklyn.

A complete stranger’s tweet…

At home, power has just come back on My little kitten has scampered off and I cannot find her. Bloody earthquake. #eqnz

…has reduced me to tears. And I’m not even there enduring this madness. I can’t imagine what it must be like for those who are.

Please. Please Christchurch. Stop shaking already. Enough.

Enough.

About maximumbrooks

Christine is currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. She improvises regularly at venues around town and dabbles in other things that interest her. She likes mango sorbet, monkeys and, apparently, throwing caution to the wind.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please. Enough.

  1. Martin says:

    Right now, you are being the best Brooks you can be ………. and that is caring about the people you love

  2. Steven says:

    I know it’s hard Christine. There are people here who care enough with you to do some of the stressing for you. We’ll help when and where we can, and hope that you are able to continue to make the most of your trip.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

