I quit my job and got a blog

As of last Friday I am unemployed. I didn’t get made redundant. Nor did I jump before being pushed. I quit a perfectly good job, which paid well and offered the promise of a career path, reasonable hours and nice people to work with. I quit with no job to go to and no intention of getting one anytime soon.

My job finished the day after new Household Labour Force Survey data came out showing that unemployment is on a greater than expected rise in New Zealand.

Just one more sign pointing to an economy that is not well.

An economy not conducive to presenting other opportunities for a recently jobless muppet such as myself.

An economy that has been feasting on expensive but thoroughly empty calories every morning for breakfast for the last twenty years when it should have been eating sensible porridge made out of affordable and slow-energy-release oats from your friendly neighbourhood bulk wholefood retailer.  Empty calories that it was paying for by borrowing money from disreputable salacious money-men of the night and by robbing its own unborn grandchildren through an intergenerational wealth transfer the size of which boggles my mind and stills my heart.

All of which is a long-winded way of saying WHAT A STUPID TIME TO QUIT A PERFECTLY GOOD JOB.

Thus, begging the question back in Brooksville, of what the sweet beheckus am I playing at?

I don’t really have a socially acceptable answer. So I made one up. Invented an excuse. This means everytime I tell someone I-quit-my-job-no-I-don’t-have-another, a conversation like this happens:

Interested well-wisher: So what are you going to do?

Me: Um…I am going to go travelling in…uh, April. On my OE to um… <think of place where it is cheap and also they have monkeys> Central America. Yeah. That’s right. I’ve got a socially acceptable plan y’all.

Interested well-wisher: Travel! Central America! On your own! Monkeys! I would love to do that/you’re brave/good luck with that plan, weirdo/ But what about a job! OMGZ The economy!

Me: <general modest agreement and normal type conversation that doesn’t involve tenuous breakfast food/economy metaphors>

Secretly? All I really want is to stop and be for a bit. Travel is a socially acceptable excuse to do this. So I guess I’m going to Central America! Which will be awesome. But really, as far as I’m concerned, it could be anywhere (that there is non-human primate wildlife).

What I really want is that for awhile, I’m not on anyone else’s clock. For awhile, I want to be the boss of me. And the boss of me will say things like ‘Brooks, today you stay in your slinky nightwear and take only mango sorbet for sustenance.’

This sounds either romantically delicious or incredibly lazy. It’s probably both. And I am scared. So scared. What if I have just thrown away six years of workplace capital on a beanbag and sorbet dream while Rome burns. (Rome is the economy and me within it, btw. We’re changing metaphors like pants around here. Keep up. Except I won’t be changing my pants because I won’t be wearing any. Because I won’t have a job.)

Meanwhile, I am fighting an irresistible urge not to plan out ways to make me safe and secure to compensate for the fact that I am FULL of the fear. So full of the fear I can taste it in my throat.

I also feel alive for about the first time in as long as I can remember.

So here I am. Planning not to plan and seeing what happens.

Join me. There’ll be pictures of monkeys.

About maximumbrooks

Christine is currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. She improvises regularly at venues around town and dabbles in other things that interest her. She likes mango sorbet, monkeys and, apparently, throwing caution to the wind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I quit my job and got a blog

  1. Janet says:

    There’s monkeys in South East Asia too. And Lorises. And Orangutans. There’s also mangoes. You should _totally_ buy a round the world monkey plane ticket. You should probably wear your pants on the plane though because otherwise they won’t let you on it. Pyjamas are probably acceptable as a pants substitute for the plane.

    (And on the actual topic of your post – yeah, you may as well quit your job now, while you still have no kiddies or housing drains on your income. Have fun! And remember, you still have six years worth of shiny CV, not nothing. Speaking from my mid-30s, you’ll still be employable if you want to be, even after the monkey break.)

  2. Michael says:

    You PROMISE there’ll be monkeys?

  3. FDanger says:

    I also love monkeys.

    Well I did.

    Everything was going fine, until I watched one with a large comical moustache (kinda of like those moustaches that you see English explorers in African wearing. You know, those kind that require waxing and much touching with hands) eating pringles out of a pringles can (well you wouldn’t expect it to be eating it off a plate with a knife and fork would you). All too human like. Like it was one of your old long-last weird uncles who had decided to live in a tree and survive on the waste of mankind.

    Any way, monkeys have slightly lost their appeal now. Unless they’re probiscus monkeys. Then we can talk …

    All the best Brooks. Keep in touch eh?

  4. Merrilee says:

    you are an inspiration to all monkeys and muppets everywhere.
    now you can add another thing to your “why did you quit your job conversations”:
    to co-host a weekly community radio programme!

    😉

  5. Chelsea says:

    Good on you! I wish I had the guts to quit my job. Instead, I took the easy way out of my job by getting pregnant. That’ll show them!

  6. Leah M says:

    Christine….your blog and recent adventures provide me with lots to smile at and empathise with. I too have undertaken a massive transition and also just walked away from a good job with career potential – not to another job – but to do something I love and put myself trough my Masters and take some time for me, to do what I want; intellectually and creatively and physically. Its equal part terrifying and exhilarating. The fear I understand. Let me know if your travels bring you to Melbourne…but Ive still got Wellington high on my work/travel radar… xx

    • Thanks Leah. Doing things that are scary is awesome. But also scary. Go you for deciding to do it.

      Would be so awesome to see you in Wellington! I’d like to make a trip to Melbourne again but probably not this year. x

  7. Pingback: You have a choice. | maximumbrooks

Leave a Reply

